Unearthing the Forgotten

This was my 3000 word essay for the year, for the essay we were allowed to choose any topic that related to our course in any way.  I have a love for print and typography and everything to do with it, so I decided to head back to where print began and explore the letterpress.  I didn’t want to do a history lesson in my essay because it’s been done, so through hours of research I decided that there was an increase in the use of the letterpress and more and more young designers were going back to the roots of typography and where it all began, this was the beginning of my essay and my title ‘Unearthing the Forgotten: The rebirth of the letterpress.’

I really enjoyed writing this essay even through it took 10 drafts before I was happy.  I learnt a lot about were type began and just how far we have come from then, it is remarkable when you realise to print a book every individual letter would of had to be hand set and there was no way to speed this up they had to be placed one by one.  How time consuming was that?  However how must it have felt to see your book in print – this is real skill!   

Not only did I get to write the essay I got to design it.  When I set out I never thought that it would end up a 40 page document for 3000 words, but for the design that I chose this was how many pages I needed.   We could use any format for the essay and I aimed to make mine really simple and classic.  I felt that this suited the topic best.  Here some photos of my essay and the layout that I applied. 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

